Writing Courses

The Writing Program oversees first-year writing courses (WRIT 2-3, WRIT 5, and the First-year Seminars taught in departments and programs throughout the College). Dartmouth's first-year writing courses prepare students to engage fully with their intellectual work in every discipline. In order to provide a solid foundation for that work, Dartmouth requires first-year students to take WRIT 5 (or its approved equivalents) followed by a First-Year Seminar (or Humanities 2). For more information on the first-year writing requirement, please see this page